Hindustan Motors

Hindustan Motors Limited (HML) was established just before independence in 1942 by Mr. B.M. Birla. It is a flagship company of the C.K. Birla Group.

Its operations began in small assembly plant in Port Okha near Gujarat. In 1948 the manufacturing moved to Uttarpara, West Bengal, where it began the production of the Ambassador. Over the years it has equipped itself with state-of-the-art facilities for the production of passenger cars, trucks and multi-utility vehicles.

Hindustan Motors have three manufacturing units. These are

  • Tiruvallur (Tamil Nadu): This exclusive state-of-the art plant is dedicated to the manufacturing of Mitsubishi Lancer in technical collaboration with Mitsubishi Motors, Japan.
  • Uttarpara (West Bengal): This division is engaged in the manufacture of passenger cars (Ambassadors) and Multi Utility Vehicles (Trekker, Porter and Pushpak).
  • Pithampur (Madhya Pradesh): This plant has the Road Trusted Vehicle (RTV) division that manufactures "RTV" brand of multi-utility vehicles, in technical collaboration with OKA Motor Company, Australia.

The vehicles manufactured by Hindustan Motors are

  • Ambassador
  • Lancer
  • Lancer Cedia
  • Pajero
  • Porter
  • Pushpak
  • RTV
  • Trekker
  • Hindustan T-480 FC (Truck)

Hindustan Motors In News

  • Hindustan Motors is targeting for Rs 200 crs as revenue, in two years, from its plant in Kolkata.

Last Updated on 1/2/2012